

19th Annual "Bob Appel – Friend of the Arkansas" Award

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2024 "Bob Appel – Friend of the Arkansas" Award. The award is presented each year at the Arkansas River Basin Water Forum (Forum). The award is intended to honor an individual who has over the years demonstrated their commitment to improving the condition of the Arkansas River as it flows from its headwaters near Leadville to the Colorado state line.

Criteria: This award is meant to recognize someone who has helped to promote the best management practices in the usage of water in the Arkansas River basin. Their efforts may include contributions in the general areas of development, preservation, conservation and/or leadership. The ability to reach out to as many constituents as possible, cooperation, and consensus building, is an important aspect in the consideration of this award. Other considerations include, but are not limited to the nominee's length of service in the area of water resources, the impact of their accomplishments, and their respect within the water community of the Arkansas River basin.

Nominations should include a thorough description of why the individual is being nominated as well as any testimonials or letters of recommendation. Nominations will be referred to an award selection committee comprised of past recipients of the award. Nomination packets are due no later than 5pm on Friday, February 2, 2024.

Nominations may be sent to the following: Jean Van Pelt, Program Manager Arkansas River Basin Water Forum PO Box 2055 Pueblo, CO 81004 ARBWF1994@gmail.com Nominations need to be received **no later than Friday, March 24, 2023, at 5:00 pm**. If you have any questions about the award or the nomination process, please email ARBWF1994@gmail.com.

Past "Bob Appel – Friend of the Arkansas" Award recipients are:

2005 - Mike Conlin	2011- "Bud" O'Hara	2017 – Gary Bostrom
2006 – Denzel Goodwin	2012 – Alan Hamel	2018 – Ken Baker
2007 – Paul Flack	2013 – Steve Witte	2019 – Jean Van Pelt
2008 – Reed Dils	2014 – Greg Policky	2020 – Ralph "Terry" Scanga
2009 – Carl Genova	2015 – Dr. Lorenz Sutherland	2022 – Roy Vaughan
2010 – Allen Ringle	2016 – Dr. Bernard Smith	

Our 27th annual Water Forum will be held on April 25 - 26, 2023 at the Doubletree by Hilton in Colorado Springs. For more info: www.ARBWF.org.

Please forward this announcement to others in the Arkansas River Basin water community or feel free to share it in your newsletters or mailings.

Thank you,
ARBWF Board of Directors